Getting Swole on Hold

You know, I wake up every morning with the intention of jumping out of bed at 6:30 AM before the sun comes up, taking a shot of Nespresso and pounding out a work out or spin class or whatever I’m in the mood for that day.

What really happens is, depending on the day –

a. I hit snooze 5 more times until it is 8 AM and I have to run off to work

b. I hit snooze 3 times and contemplate about working out, but instead pull out my laptop to tumblr and waste time

c. the heavens open up and angel is somehow out the door and ready to go. happens about 2-3 times a week if i’m lucky.

On the other end of the spectrum, if I miss a workout (partially why I had to cancel ClassPass, those rigid late fees were eating me alive) I try to plan to fit one in right after work. Unfortunately 11/10 I run home exhausted and so famished that a work out is the last thing in my mind.

In a very #firstworldproblems way, I have a trip to Hawaii planned for next month and obviously I’m trying to make some native Hawaiian men buy both A and I some drinks and shaved ice. I’ve signed up for a month-long session of Pure Barre – which btw, I am offended if any male tells me that’s a sissy work out. Because it truly will make you sweat and hurt all over in the very best way.

However, I know deep down instead that I cannot afford the monthly Pure Barre fees after the New Client Special (what 21 year old has $400 to throw at one small studio?!) so I’m thinking of joining a gym again? Maybe the 10 minute walk will not seem so long once this long winter once I see the abundance of classes I can take at a REAL ACTUAL GYM?! Or I can just continue to be jealous at G and her Equinox membership. Le sigh!

Let’s keep our fingers crossed that Angel can wake up tomorrow morning and literally haul her ass downstairs to the apartment gym to break a sweat.

Leave a Reply

