Meet Angus

If you know me, you know I live for the fat, googly-eyed and wrinkly…in dog form. Give me any bulldog or pug and I will smother him/her in kisses and cuddles until that dog wants to writhe out of my arms. I follow all of the bulldog instagram accounts, read through Buzzfeed pug lists and will occasionally fall into watching marathons of pet videos on Youtube.

A and I have been wanting a puppy for a long time now, but nothing ever worked out. We sent in multiple adoption forms, visited rescues and pet shops for months and nothing ever “felt right”. This weekend, I was out with friends, burning time before dinner and I decided to google pet shops and found this little guy in West Village. My fault, as usual. I couldn’t get him out of my head or bear to think of this pup growing up in another family…so we pulled the trigger!

Hello Angus, welcome to our family! He is a beautiful 10-month year old french bulldog (though I do suspect he has some Boston Terrier in him – will come back with updates from the vet soon) and full of life, sweet tenderness and derpiness.

The first 24 hours, he was super nervous and wandered the apartment, sleeping in bursts through the night on our couch (thanks to A who kept waking up in bits and massaging him back to sleep). We gave him lots of water and toys, and now he is getting more comfortable laying around and playing with us. Angus also came with some perks including crate, wee-wee pad training in tow and the ability to entertain himself for hours (aka running around in circles for 10 minutes followed by a 3 hour nap like a good frenchie needs). We do have our work cut out for us, as he is still a puppy and needs to be leash trained (has never been walked before) and will need to know the basic commands (i.e. sit, stay, come here, responding to his name). A and I are more than excited to make him into the perfect french gentleman!

PS. If you’re thinking of getting a dog, do realize that they will probably turn into your early bird alarm clock. Sunday wake up call was 6 AM, which would be super brutal if Angus wasn’t so damn cute and today was 7 AM, which is great for work wake-up calls…I guess?

Happy Monday everyone!

xo Angel + Angus

Leave a Reply

