Hello May

May-03

I’m jumping the gun and saying hello to May a few hours early.

At the end of every month, I always think that that this particular month went by faster than the previous. However, April REALLY went fast, as I hit many changes in my life within the last 30 days. I got my job – though it wasn’t my “dream” job on paper, it slowly has morphed into a dream. I work with different clients all day, I am allowed to be creative and there is the entrepreneurship aspect that pushes me out of my comfort zone that is cushioned by the fact that I work for an established brand, something I’ve also wanted for a while. Personal life wise, my family of two also turned into a trio when we adopted our frenchie Angus a week ago – which was the best decision even if it didn’t seem financially right at the time (post to come later).

I predict that May will welcome more financial stability and social happiness and I’m super excited to see how I will grow and take on this month!

April Goals Revisited:

  1. GET THAT JOB. So self explanatory and yet, so needed. I have a good feeling that this month will treat me well. Positive vibes all around.

Yaaaaaas got the job and I’m soooo happy!

2.Take time to relax on the weekend away from my computer screen. Go out on adventures.

My new job allows me to enjoy conversing with clients, being creative and requires about an hour of computer time a day! I love not being glued to a digital screen – my migraines have gone down, which I have always suspected were linked to my large use  of electronics and I feel more fit just being on my feet all day.

3. Read five books.

Massive fail, but I do have an excuse! My leisure time has gone down due to work and when I have time off, I’d rather spend it reading short articles, magazines or hanging out with my family. I have been trying to read more on my commute to work rather than staring blankly at other travelers on the subway.

4.Blog every day (ok or every other day if we’re being honest, but hey, at least I’m being honest!)

Better! I suspect we’re blogging about 2-4 times a week, which is a lot more consistent than before. Still a goal!

5.Start planning summer trip + weekend rendezvous for April! Perhaps a weekend in upstate to go hiking and prance around a small cute town pretending I have a farm, a cow named Hattie and a British butler named Andrew who helps me pick daises all day.

Soooo…..this is where getting Angus comes into play. Since Angus is a pure-bred dog that we bought from a pet store, he was an investment. Definitely the best investment we made since our love for him is massive, but this means we financially consider all of our other purchases. If I am able to pay off the majority of my credit card bills and my split of Angus by June/July, I’ll consider planning a birthday weekend trip away (Miami anyone?!). If that’s not possible, I’d still love to plan a few staycations and upstate adventures this summer!

May Goals:

  1. Green Thumb – Every year, I imagine my windowsill filled with flourishing herbs and different assortments of cacti and fresh flowers. Most of the time, my basil plants will shrivel up within a week and die. I am very determined to keep my herbs alive for the summer and I’d like to have an assortment of at least 3 herbs and maybe fresh flowers once every week or so to keep our apartment fresh.
  2. Home Decor – A and I moved to Williamsburg last July so we’re nearing the one year mark on our apartment. Due to convenience and my hatred of packing up my things to move, we’ll stay here for one more year before the rent increases become astronomical. To keep myself from feeling fidgeting and too complacent in one place, I’d like to continue decorating and refining our apartment. I’d love to buy a few more pieces of art to frame, pots and vases for plants and if finances are good, perhaps a bar cart, bed frame or even a rustic bookshelf.
  3. Debt Management – My goals at graduation last year were to be financially stable by a year’s time. It’ll be a year’s time in May and I can say that I’ve been cut off for about a month now. It’s been terrifying, but also so liberating to be in charge of my own finances. My goals are to pay of all of my credit card debt from living on it between jobs as well as beginning to save some money. I’d like to be able to save up to 3 months worth of living expenses by fall.
  4. Juice More – Self-explanatory. All my co-workers are huge health-nuts which is awesome because it pushes me to take better care of myself. I’d like to dust off my juicer and start making fresh juices 2-3 times a week because it helps me glow and energizes me. I believe in the power of juice to supplement a healthy diet.
  5. Family – Because I work weekends, it’s quite difficult for me to schedule time to see my family in NJ. I’d like to see them at least once or twice this month, especially before my mama goes to China for two weeks.

xo Angel

Leave a Reply

